To set yourself against your own clock.

Hitomi’s Rules of Life
3 min readOct 9, 2022

--

Forget a.m. and p.m. and update your clock to i.m. Who invented a.m. and p.m? Not you. It’s time to set your clock to i.m.

Client: I would like to be able to go home on time, but I keep working even though I am running out of energy because I have to do it and my productivity is also decreasing. I don’t know when to rest.

Me: What are you doing?

C: Too obsessive? It’s like I’m trying to do a lot of things, or I’m building up a lot of things that I can handle if I try hard enough.

Me: Do you work overtime every day?

C: Yes, I do. I’m doing some kind of overtime. But now that I’m working remotely, I might not be able to finish more smoothly. I spend a lot of time thinking about what I’m going to do after I’ve eaten, but I might not feel like doing it. When I’m with other people, I can pull myself away from work due to outside factors, but when I’m alone, I think about work while I’m eating, or I want to read a book but can’t because I haven’t finished my work.

Me: Does it mean that because you are alone, your time is used more roughly?

C: Well… If I don’t have a forced end, like an appointment with someone, I just keep going. I should be able to do more. I just have to give up on time but I get into a groove at about 7 pm and feel like I can make it a bit further, so I try in vain.

Me: Ah I see. Maybe you have fixed working hours at the office. You’re stuck there. I don’t have that, so for example, if I come home from the gym and I haven’t finished by 11 pm, I’ll write a blog, and I don’t say it’s not good because I didn’t finish by a certain time.

C: I see. So there is no interruption?

Me: Yes, I do. So if I’m working a shift, I’ve done three hours of overtime… but if I’m working for myself, I’m never not working.

C: Sure, maybe I don’t think it’s OK to do that.

Me: I don’t have a start time and an end time, so I’m always working. There is no concept of doing overtime… I am working because I just want to. I mean, the captivity of working hours is causing you extra stress. If you’re in the groove, why not just do it?

C: I’m allowed to work, aren’t I?

Me: I do it when I’m in the groove. If I’m not in the mood, I stop doing it.

C: I see. So if I follow my intuition, the problem goes away. But a part of me thinks that if I take a break somewhere, I will take a break forever.

Me: Ah. I think that’s also because you work for a company. If you don’t work for a company, it’s a matter of life and death because if I take a break, I stop getting paid. We live in an era where you can work remotely, so you can control your work time within your domain.

C: Maybe there was some self-denial in it like if I work late, I’m inefficient.

Me: Unnecessary self-denial.

C: I’m more of a night person.

Me: Creatives are night owls. If you could get rid of your time captivity, you could be a hyper-creator!

Don’t set yourself against the clock outside, set yourself against your own clock. You will perform at your best.

--

--

Hitomi’s Rules of Life

Born in Tokyo • Life coach since 2006 • Blogger • Organizer of ONE DAY ONE UNIT community